New Year Ramblings

They say the way you spend new year’s day is an inkling of things to come. I hope not ’cause I was in bed coughing, sneezing and clutching my stomach in pain. The flu followed me into 2012.  My new year resolution was determined in that moment- as I covered under a quilt and the neighbourhood erupted in raucous Punjabi pop music and fireworks- I will reclaim my health, hit the gym more often, try out new workouts and in the process, expand my capacity for distance running.

Here’s a hilarious piece in the LA times on new year resolutions like mine that are health-centric.

http://www.latimes.com/health/la-he-0102-small-changes-20120102,0,3153628.story

Health apart, I resolve to laugh more, bake more  and spread joy wherever I go

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nina Banerjee
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 05:47:32

    Oh, poor you! Drink adrak chai – it’ll soothe your throat and also make your stomach feel better. Wish I could be there to chat and distract you from how you are feeling…
    Love, Mhav

    Reply

    • Namrata Kilpady
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 09:56:27

      Thanks, Mhav. Many people are recommending the same thing, but i’m being awfully stubborn even in my weak state…as If there’s one thing I detest it’s adrak. Our kind Bengali maid insisted on making me drink Kadha- she boiled water in a saucepan and tossed in some badi elaichi, laung, kali mirch and dalchini, strained it and made it sip 2 cupfuls! It was the most invigorating tonic and helped to a great extent. I really wish you were here to distract me…there’s nothing more I would love than that.. Love, niece (what’s the aamchi word for niece, is there one?)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

